transcript

Episode #06 – Transcript

Claire: Hello, and welcome to the Sisterhood of the Traveling Paperbacks, a cheerful and irreverent book club podcast all about genre fiction, fandom, and the things that make us happy.

[Malt Shop Bop by Kevin Macleod plays]

Chelsea: Alright, welcome back to the sixth episode of Sisterhood of the Traveling Paperbacks. Today, as always, we’re gonna cover what we’re currently reading and then talk about our book of the fortnight, which is Daughter of Smoke & Bone by Laini Taylor and then we’ll wrap it up with things we have on the go and to look forward to in the future. I’m Chelsea.

Claire: I’m Claire.

Kay: And I’m Kay.

Chelsea: And, I guess to start with what I am currently reading, I just actually finished up a really intense [laughs] kind of surprising, out of the blue book binge. I listened to the audiobooks of the middle grade novelizations of the first Star Wars trilogy.

Kay: Yessss.

Claire: Huh.

Kay: Two of those are good. [laughs]

Chelsea: I don’t know if you guys have seen these. They’re, well [laughs] yeah, we’ll get there.

Claire: I did not know these were a thing.

Kay: The audiobooks are great.

Chelsea: They’re — yeah, the audiobooks are really great. And each one’s written by a different author and it literally just novelizes the movie. But they’re really short. They’re, I mean they, they read exactly like it feels to watch Star Wars on the screen.

Kay: Yeah.

Chelsea: Because they’re middle grade they’re very fast paced. They’re actionpacked.

Kay: They’re kind of radio play-ish.

Chelsea: Yeah. Yeah, yeah, it’s like listening to a full cast audiobook, like, they do like background music and sound effects.

Kay: Mmhmm.

Chelsea: And it’s very cool. Like it was, it was a way to watch the movies without actually having to, like, use my eyeballs to watch the movies. Um, the first one’s written by Alexandra Bracken and it’s called The Princess, the Scoundrel, and the Farmboy.

Kay: I love that one. It’s so cute.

Chelsea: Which, if you’ve seen the first Star Wars movie, would make sense. The second one is called So You Want to Be A Jedi by Adam Gidwitz.

[Kay hums in disapproval]

Chelsea: And this one I did not like as much. And it’s ‘cause it is written entirely in the second person.

Kay: Mmhmm.

Claire: No.

Chelsea: And I am not here for two hundred pages of second person. [laughs]

Claire: No. No. No.

Chelsea: And what I did like, it’s cute, in-between the chapters are, like. So the whole things kinda like, If You Wanna Be A Jedi, it’s kind of like a training manual. But actually what it teaches is, like, a lot of mindfulness stuff and it teaches, like, deep breathing, and it teaches how to try to be empathetic. So it actually teaches some pretty cool stuff for, like, but then the actual fiction parts are in second person and I’m like ugh, but I wanna scratch my face off. It’s so bad.

[laughter]

Chelsea: I can’t. Oh, man. But I like listened to it because, I mean, whatever. It’s the second book, I wanted to keep going with the whole series. And then the very last one is Beware the Power of the Dark Side by Tom Angleberger. And that’s The Return of the Jedi.

Kay: Mmhmm.

Chelsea: So I literally listened to all of those over the course of, like, two days back to back over the course of, like, two days. Because they’re just super cute and they were very easy to listen to.

Kay: That sounds deeply therapeutic, honestly.

Chelsea: Highly recommend. Yeah. And you know, like I said if you’re driving in the car or you’re doing your chores or whatever and you want to watch the original trilogy, but can’t use your eyes to do it, this isn’t a bad alternative in terms of, like, audiobooks, and you’ll get through ‘em super, super fast. So. That’s what I’ve been reading. Uh, Claire. Over to you. What’ve you got on the go?

Claire: Well, um, apart from the book for this week, what I’ve just finished to day, what I’ve actually read all the way through today, is a little novelette from Book Smugglers Publishing.

Chelsea: Yay!

Claire: Which is called The Little Homo Sapiens Scientist. It’s by S. L. Huang. And it is, a, like, dark, twisted creepy retelling of The Little Mermaid.

Chelsea: [gasps] Ooohhh, that’s cool.

Claire: It was, like, an impulse buy, because Ana from Book Smugglers tweeted that they were selling it.

[Chelsea laughs]

Claire: In, like, a paper edition.

Kay: We’re weak to that.

Claire: It looked interesting and weird, so I just ordered it.

Chelsea: Yeah.

Claire: Because I have no impulse control.

Chelsea: I’m weak to Book Smugglers, man.

Kay: They’re stuff is so consistently awesome, it’s hard to not.

Chelsea: Yeah. So.

Claire: Yeah, so this is just fantastic. So instead of being the mermaid who’s fascinated with humans and wants to go to the surface, it’s a human scientist who’s fascinated with this, like, mermaid race that they found, who wants to become one of them, basically. She’s, like, learning their language. And so there’s a lot of, um, little things that are, kind of like, if you liked Arrival. And that kind of, like, deep science of language, um. That’s what I found really cool and interesting about it. And, like, the, the end of it has like this dark twist and I was like, ‘What? No! You can’t do that! No!’

[Chelsea laughs]

Claire: My god! What? How! My feelings!

Chelsea: Awww.

Claire: So it was very effective.

[Kay laughs]

Claire: And it was published in 2016 and consequently went on my Hugo ballot.

Kay: Alright, so I am reading all of the things, as per usual. I just finished my yearly reread of Sense and Sensibility, because yes. I am that person.

[Chelsea laughs]

Kay: Um, and I was doing the audiobook for this go-around. Juliet Stevenson is the narrator I listened to for that and she’s wonderful. I think she’s done…four of Austen’s novels on audio? And they’re always great.

Chelsea: Mmhmm.

Kay: I also just finished The Woman in Cabin 10 by Ruth Ware and I don’t know why I thought it was a good idea to read another one of her books after I thought her first book was, like, so mediocre.

Chelsea: Wasn’t so great?

Kay: In a Dark, Dark Wood. But, like, everyone loved it and then this book came out last, I think August?

Chelsea: Mmhmm.

Kay: Maybe? And I literally was on the waitlist at my library for six months? Seven months?

Chelsea: Damn. That’s a long wait.

Kay: So I was like, I’ll read it. And I did not like it for a variety of reasons and I will link to that Twitter thread in our show notes.

Chelsea: Oh no.

Kay: ‘Cause I just don’t even want to talk about it. I just was not happy about that.

Chelsea: That is unfortunate.

Kay: Yeah. Other things I wasn’t happy about reading and also finished.

[laughter]

Kay: Literally only two of the five things I have, like, just finished reading were things I liked. Uh, I finished reading Royal Bastards by — I am sorry, to this gentleman. I am not positive how you say his name. Andrew S-h-v-a-r-t-s. I read that as Shvarts.

Chelsea: Shvarts? Yeah, I would think so. Yeah.

Kay: And it’s, like, YA fantasy and it was really funny, and the pacing was great, and I was, like, mad about how good the teenage dialogue was.

Chelsea: Mmhmm.

Kay: And it’s got some really suspect worldbuilding.

Chelsea: Ohhh.

Kay: And I am not wild about some, like, third act twists he threw in there that were just real sexist and gross.

Chelsea: Oh, that’s unfortunate.

Kay: And I dunno. I’m actually gonna try and do a full review on that one, because it’s problematic enough that, like, I feel the need to warn people about some stuff. It’s not coming out till like June or July, so I’ll be sure to link that review when that actually gets done.

Chelsea: Yeah.

Kay: Don’t read Royal Bastards. It looks like it’s gonna be fun —

[Chelsea laughs]

Kay: — and it, like, fucks you over in the third act, is what happens with that.

[laughter]

Chelsea: That’s such a disappointment.

Kay: Right?

Chelsea: Such a bummer.

Kay: Such a bummer. Other things that I don’t know why I read because I just make poor life choices. [laughs] Lincoln in the Bardo by George Saunders.

Chelsea: Ohhh.

Kay: Like. This is.

Chelsea: That was another one you had a good Twitter rant about.

Kay: This is our freaking ‘we don’t like literary fiction most of the time’ podcast, right?

Chelsea and Claire: Yeah.

Kay: So I should know myself well enough that, like, the first novel of [snooty tone] noted literary short fiction author George Saunders —

Chelsea: Mmhmm. [laughs]

Kay: — was not gonna be a thing that I was gonna enjoy. But, like, I read that shit anyway.

Chelsea: Oh, man.

Kay: Because everyone was talking about this audiobook with 166 narrators. And it’s, like —

Chelsea: Which sounds like a nightmare.

Claire: That sounds awful.

Chelsea: Like, too many people.

Kay: It’s full cast audio.

Claire: No.

Kay: And there’s literally, like, a bunch of Hollywood people, like, actors, people that I enjoy doing the majority of the voice acting in this. And I’m like, there’s no way this can go wrong!

Chelsea: Mmhmm.

Kay: But it goes wrong in all of the ways. And what this book is —

[Chelsea laughs]

Kay: — it is, um, original character outsider POV historical RPF supernatural fic.

Chelsea: Eewwww.

Kay: Is what this is. I’m not even joking.

Claire: You have to be a really good fanfiction author to be able to do that.

Kay: Yeah! So it’s —

Chelsea: I don’t know if. I. Uh. Hmm.

Kay: I don’t know if anyone’s that good.

Chelsea: Not gonna scratch my itches. Yeah. I don’t think anybody could’ve pulled that off.

Claire: It actually, like, sounds dreadful.

Chelsea: You’re right, it sounds awful, but like, to get even close to something tolerable would take, I mean, I just.

Kay: I mean, the framing device is interesting. Because it’s, like, set the week of, um, Willie Lincoln’s death. So, Abraham Lincoln, one of his sons died when he was in office.

Chelsea: And it super fucked up his wife. Hardcore.

Kay: And, uh, yeah. Everything about it was terrible. Lincoln visited the, like, cemetery multiple times, and had them take Willie out of his mausoleum —

Chelsea: Interment. It’s so bad, yeah.

Kay: And held him in his arms. Like, this is definitely the set up for, like, a good ghost story and, like, that’s what he was kind of writing, but it was also not what he was writing.

Claire: But it’s the setup for a good story. You don’t need all this stuff around it if you’re a good writer and you can write good, like, characters and emotion and an interesting story. Like. Why?

Kay: And I didn’t…I didn’t think…the writing is not that good. Like, people can go ahead and fight me. [laughs] Like, honestly, feel free to come pick a fight with me on Twitter. I don’t even care. It was not a good book. [laughs] Hey! How ‘bout a thing I actually enjoyed?

[laughter]

Chelsea: There we go! There we go, let’s leave it on a good note. Let’s leave it in a good place.

Kay: One of the things I was reading was fanfiction that was way fucking better —

[laughter]

Kay: — than Lincoln in the Bardo by George Saunders. And it’s called What We Pretend We Can’t See by um, gyzym, g-y-z-y-m.

[laughter]

Claire: Oh my god.

Kay: Who is —

Chelsea: I’m just trying to picture literally every literary book person out there coming at you for being like ‘so I read this fanfiction that was way better than this George Saunders novel.’

Kay: Anyway! What We Pretend We Can’t See is literally probably one of the top five, like, books I’ve read all year. This is a novel-length Harry Potter fanfic.

Chelsea: Mmhmm.

Kay: It is Harry/Draco. It is the best characterizations of, like, the trio that I have read probably since Goblet of Fire. [laughter]

Chelsea: Really?

Claire: Why am I not reading this right now?

Kay: I don’t know why you’re not reading this right now. I want to read it again immediately. I don’t wanna —

Chelsea: Which one is this?

Kay: This is the one where Harry is an auror and, uh, Draco runs a museum, basically, out of Grimmauld Place.

Chelsea: Yeah, I’ve started this one. I’m like halfway through this one. It’s real good.

Kay: It’s. It’s just. I mean, her writing is so great. Like. I would read anything she wrote. But this also just hits a lot of my buttons. It’s a really wonderful ‘Epilogue? What epilogue?’ story.

Chelsea: Mmhmm.

Kay: And it captures the feel of canon while feeling more true to life in the depicted diversity of the characters. And in the way that they react more realistically to things. [laugh] Because sometimes the emotional reactions of characters in Harry Potter make less than zero sense. Like, I love you Jo.

Claire: Oh, yeah.

Kay: But sometimes I don’t know what you’re doing. [laughs] But this fic is great. And it’s hilarious. And it will also, like, make your heart hurt. So you should all go read that immediately.

[Malt Shop Bop by Kevin MacLeod plays]

Claire: So Hugo Award nomination period just finished.

Chelsea: Mmhmm.

Claire: And so we all nominated things for the Hugos.

Kay: Mmhmm.

Claire: And we wanted to talk about, uh, I think about maybe one thing? One thing each that we nominated in each of the categories?

Chelsea: Yeah, I think so.

Claire: Otherwise we’ll be here forever.

Kay: We just wanna go through each one, real quick? Okay.

Claire: Yeah, shall we just go down the list?

Kay: Sure.

Chelsea: Yeah, that’s fine.

Kay: What’s your best novels, guys?

Chelsea: Yeah, uh, well one of my Best Novels that I wanted to nominate and that I really enjoyed nominating was The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi.

Kay and Claire: Hmmm.

Chelsea: Which was a young adult, uh, Hades/Persephone retelling set in India. Uh, so yeah. I really enjoyed that one. It was beautiful. It gave me some really heavy 1001 Nights meets The Night Circus kind of feelings.

Claire: Oh, very nice.

Chelsea: Yeah. Uh, what about you, Claire?

Claire: Um, I nominated The Obelisk Gate because I thought that was the best writing I’d read all year, but I also nominated, among other things, A Closed and Common Orbit by Becky Chambers.

Kay: Mmhmm.

Claire: Because I really, really liked it.

Chelsea: Yeah.

Claire: I happened to like it better than the first book, because it ticked more of my personal buttons. And I think, if the first book had been eligible to nominate last year, it would probably have done really well.

Kay: Yeah, I am having trouble picking which one of my Best Novel picks to talk about. ‘Cause I loved all of them so much. But I’m gonna talk about Lois Lane: Double Down because, like, no one else is gonna nominate it and that makes me sad.

Chelsea: Oh, Gwenda Bond. Those are such good books.

Kay: Those books are so great. If you like YA at all, even if you are not a DC comics person, this is a wonderful little trilogy about, like, a teenage Lois Lane. And they’re awesome. And the second book is eligible this year. So I nominated that one.

Chelsea: Yes.

Kay: Super charming.

Chelsea: Very, very cute. Says someone who reads YA and is not a DC fan.

Kay: There you go.

Chelsea: They are very cute. Alright, uh, Best Novella. Um, I guess…I dunno. I read a lot of really good stuff. Literally, literally all five of these came from Tor.com.

[laughter]

Kay: Wow.

Chelsea: Didn’t even, didn’t even bother. Yeah. Yeah. Super, super stoked. So I guess I will talk about A Taste of Honey by Kai Ashante Wilson.

Kay: Nice.

Chelsea: Which is the followup to a novella that she published last year. I just really love this world that Wilson has created. I think they are the perfect length. I think they work so well in the novella form. Um. So, yeah. And then I also nominated Runtime by SB Divya.

Claire: Yeah.

Chelsea: I thought that was a very, very fun thing to read.

Claire: I nominated Every Heart A Doorway, to everybody’s surprise, by Seanan McGuire.

Kay: Same. [laughs]

Chelsea: Mmhmm.

Claire: It was one of my favorite reads of the year. Um, I mean, again, most. I don’t read a lot of short fiction. So my ballot was woefully empty for short fiction which is not great, but.

Chelsea: Yeah.

Claire: I couldn’t. You know.

Chelsea: Yeah, that happens.

Kay: My short fiction is always overflowing with stuff and it was brutal trying to pick things. For Best Novella, literally three of mine are by Seanan McGuire.

[laughter]

Kay: Well, like, one of them is under her Mira Grant name, but she, I mean. The woman is a machine. She turns out short fiction like she can do it in her sleep. And it’s always great. Um, like All the Pretty Little Horses from her Newsflesh collection that came out, Rise?

Chelsea: Oh, yeah.

Kay: It’s about Sean and Georgia’s adoptive parents before they adopted Sean and Georgia. It’s.

Chelsea: Oh, that’s cool.

Kay: It’s amazing. It’s an amazing little gutpunch of a novella. Also, I just have to, like, shoutout the only dude I nominated, like, in any category, I think? That wasn’t, like, a media category.

[laughter]

Claire: Amazing.

Kay: John Scalzi’s Audible-first Dispatcher novella was excellent. I really liked that a lot.

Claire: Hmm.

Chelsea: Huh. I did not listen to that one.

Claire: I have not heard that.

Chelsea: That sounds good.

Claire: I’ll have to check that out.

Kay: It’s a near-future scifi kind of urban fantasy-ish and, uh, Zachary Quinto did the audio.

Chelsea: Ohhhh, that’s a good choice.

Kay: And it was originally free, for like two months. So, like, I didn’t even have to pay for it.

Chelsea: Nice.

Kay: So great.

Claire: Scalzi sitting on his giant pile of Tor money going ‘yes, you shall have the free novella.’

[laughter]

Chelsea: Yeah. I just picture him like Scrooge McDuck, like, swimming in and out of giant piles of coins. In his vault of gajillions of dollars.

Kay: But, like, he would though. That is actually a thing he’d do.

Chelsea: I know! And good for him.

Claire: Good for him!

Chelsea: Good for him. Uh, novellete. This was a tough category. I didn’t read as many novelettes this year as I thought I did. More short stories.

Kay: Uh, four of mine are from Uncanny. [laughs]

Chelsea: Three of mine are from Uncanny. And the other two are from Tor.

[laughter]

Claire: My ones are actually both from Book Smugglers Publishing.

Kay: Nice.

Chelsea: Nice! So I’ve got You’ll Surely Drown Here If You Stay by Alyssa Wong.

Kay: So good.

Chelsea: Um, and The Playgivers by Kameron Hurley. Which. I mean. I love Kameron Hurley. I’ll read literally anything that woman puts to paper. But I just thought this one was such a good, um, military mechanic mecha female-driven crazy queer novelette that I just loved it. I loved it a whole lot.

Kay: Nice.

Claire: She just added, she just added a level to her Patreon that was like $2 more than what I was originally paying and it, like, gives you all of her stuff in audio as well.

Chelsea: Nice.

Claire: And I was like, I have never clicked on a Patreon quicker than that particular upgrade. So great.

Chelsea: Mmhmm. That’s a good one. Cat Valente opened her Patreon and I was there super fast for that one. I was there lickety split. Alright. Ladies?

Claire: My novelette nomination that I haven’t already mentioned was Superior by Jessica Lack, this is like the most adorable —

Kay: It is super cute.

Claire: — queer superhero novelette and it’s so, so cute. And it, it just gave me a lot of, like, really good fanfiction feels. So. Had to go on.

Kay: Nice.

Chelsea: Yeah. What about you, Kay?

Kay: I literally nominated four Uncanny Magazine novelettes, which is how many we published that were eligible, I think.

[laughter]

Kay: And then also, uh, Full of Briars by Seanan McGuire.

Chelsea: Yeah.

Kay: Because my ballot’s just, like, half Seanan this year. Which, did either of you guys read that?

Claire: Not yet.

Chelsea: I don’t think so.

Kay: It’s so cute. It’s about, like, her squire. Mostly.

Chelsea: Aw, that’s cute. I’m gonna have to read that one. Like I said, I didn’t read as many novelettes this year, for some reason. I think it’s because I get the short stories from the magazines and a lot of those also include novellas or reprint novellas. So it’s just like, I dunno. Novelette is a trickier one for me. Speaking of Uncanny Magazine and short stories.

[Kay laughs]

Chelsea: Let’s talk about the category where they cleaned up for me.

Claire: All of them.

Chelsea: Every short story I nominated. Every one.

Kay: Yep. All five.

Chelsea: I could’ve just been like: anything. Just pick one. It doesn’t matter. Uh, but the number one one I nominated, the one that I, actually, it’s probably one of my favorite stories that Uncanny has ever published, is uh, can you guys guess?

Kay: Our Talons Can Crush Galaxies?

Chelsea: Yes! Yeah.

[laughter]

Chelsea: Our Talons Can Crush Galaxies by Brooke Bolander. I love that story.

Kay: It is great.

Chelsea: So much. It’s about harpies and rape culture —

Claire: Yes.

Chelsea: — and ladies. It’s just so good. Yesss.

Kay: So good.

Chelsea: I just, ohmygod, okay. Yeah. I can’t. Go read it, if you haven’t. It’s so good. Someone else talk so I will just stop saying it’s so good.

Kay: What about you, Claire?

Claire: Ye Highland and Ye Lowlands by Seanan McGuire.

Kay: That is a good one, that is a good one.

Chelsea: Also from Uncanny Magazine.

Claire: I mean, it’s Seanan destroying the world. Again. And it has a really smart twist. And I can’t tell you why it ticks all my boxes because that would be hugely spoilery, but it ticks all my boxes.

Chelsea and Kay: Yeah.

Kay: It’s good, though.

Claire: She just has, like, her prose is also beautiful. It’s not just that she’s a machine.

Kay: Mmhmm.

Claire: It’s that, like, she’s a very prolific writer who has a degree in, like, fairytales.

Kay: Yeah.

Chelsea: Yeah, yeah.

Claire: She can write a repetition that just, like, takes you in and, uh. Beautiful. Amazing.

Kay: So good.

Chelsea: Alright, and you, Miss Kay?

Kay: I mean, literally all of mine are also from Uncanny.

Chelsea: Everything. Yeah, yeah, yeah.

Kay: Because I read literally every story that we publish. So. Like. Come on.

[laughter]

Kay: I can’t even, like, express why I love it so much, but An Ocean the Color of Bruises by Isabel Yap.

Chelsea: Oh, yeah, that’s a good one. That one was on my ballot. That’s a good one.

Kay: I just. It’s so…it’s just so good.

Chelsea: Yeah.

Kay: Just so good. [laughs]

Chelsea: Yeah, they’re really, really good. So Best Related Work.

Kay: I want to talk about everything I nominated in this category. [laughs] They’re all so great.

Claire: Let’s talk about the Archive of Our Own.

Kay: Yeah. I also nominated AO3.

Chelsea: This is one of my favorite categories. I also nominated AO3.

Kay: Yeah. That was mine.

Chelsea: Come at us, Internet.

Claire: Come at us and Renay.

Kay: Actually, don’t come fight me on this. I don’t want to hear your discourse. Because you’re wrong. This is one of those times where don’t come at me, I’m not gonna bother talking to you if you don’t believe this was worthy of being nominated.

Claire: Well, yeah, so the Archive of Our Own, um, if anyone hasn’t followed is a fanfiction archive. It’s amazing, we all love it, and also it’s eligible as a Related Work because it’s the system itself, the website. It’s eligible as Related Work because it relates to science fiction and fantasy, it relates to fandom.

Chelsea: Possibly more than any other thing.

Kay: Yeah.

Claire: And it’s something that constantly changes, so it definitely is eligible for every single year. And yeah. There’s been a bit of, uh, it’s been on my ballot for a few years, now. So.

Chelsea: Yeah. I also wanna talk about the Black Spec Fic Report.

Kay: That was on mine, too.

Chelsea: That Fireside Fiction put out, that I nominated. That was amazing and does a statistical breakdown of submissions and acceptance and publishing rates among black speculative fiction authors and just talks about, uh, basically racism in publishing, and specifically racism in publishing and in submissions and in the whole process for speculative fiction. So, yeah, we’ll link to that, definitely.

Kay: Check that out.

Chelsea: Definitely a lengthy read, but one that’s worth the time and worth digging into. There’s a lot of really good stuff in there.

Claire: If, uh, you need cheering up after that, I highly recommend the Women of Harry Potter series that Sarah Gailey did for Tor.com. That was adorable and, like, super fighty and beautiful and I, I liked it a lot and I cried several times.

[Kay laughs]

Chelsea: Yeah, those are really good. Um, graphic novel. Graphic Story, excuse me. This is my…I really like this category.

Kay: Bombshells.

Chelsea: I nominated a lot of Jeff Lemire —

Claire: [sings] Image.

Chelsea: Mmhmm.

Kay: Wait, did neither of you nominate Bombshells?

Claire: I’m sorry?

Chelsea: Wait, what?

Kay: Am I the only person who nominated Bombshells under Best Graphic Story?

Claire: I have not read that.

Chelsea: Yes.

Kay: Wow. You need to read it, like, immediately.

[laughter]

Kay: It’s real queer and amazing. It’s so good. And the art is lovely.

Chelsea: I’m here for that. I nominated Kim & Kim. From Black Mask Studios.

Kay: Nice.

Chelsea: I really, really liked that.

Kay: Monstress, also.

Chelsea: And then, also Monstress. Yes. Descender.

Kay: And Black Panther.

Claire: Yeah, two volumes of Descender.

Chelsea: Yeah, two volumes of Descender. And then Paper Girls. So.

Claire: Yeah.

Kay: Also Unbeatable Squirrel Girl Beats Up the Marvel Universe.

Chelsea: That’s a really great one. Uh, longform? Dramatic Presentation, Longform?

Claire: Arrival. I mean, it’s my language tick boxes, you know. I love it so much ‘cause the language.

Chelsea: Uh, Deadpool. I cannot explain to you guys how badly I want Deadpool to make —

Kay: Ugh.

Chelsea: — finalist in this category. No, don’t. Don’t even make the noises, Kay.

Kay: I’m not.

Chelsea: I love Deadpool so much.

Kay: I totally understand why people like Deadpool, it’s just not my jam. Whereas I’m over here nominating For the Love of Spock. Because it’s so lovely.

Chelsea: I get that.

Kay: Like, so lovely. If you guys haven’t watched it, it’s on Netflix, now.

Chelsea: Mmhmm.

Kay: And, if you have ever had feelings about Star Trek or even just kind of, like, fandom in general, you should watch it. Adam Nimoy did an excellent job, there.

Chelsea: Uh, do we have any Short Form standouts?

Kay: Weirdmageddon, Part 3: Take Back the Falls. The last episode of Gravity Falls.

Chelsea: That’s a great one.

Kay: So good. So Good.

Chelsea: The Answer from Steven Universe, that was another really good one for me. I love Steven Universe.

Claire: I mean, I nominated some Game of Thrones episodes.

Chelsea: Which ones? All of them? Like all of the ones that were eligible?

[laughter]

Claire: Which ones? All of them. Um. [hums] I think the one I nominated was, like, particularly lady stabby?

[laughter]

Claire: Like, where all the ladies stab all the men, basically.

Chelsea: Yes, that’s a good one. I did The Battle of the Bastards. I loved.

Claire: Yeah, yeah definitely The Battle of the Bastards for the battle, right? But, yeah, I don’t have that? I don’t know why, I mean, I hope it went through ‘cause I definitely put them on, but they’re not on my email. So. Whoops.

Kay: Team Thor was, like, my standout thing in that category. That I was hoping people would be talking about nominating and I didn’t see many people talking about. It’s possibly the greatest thing in the Marvel Cinematic Universe at this point in time. [laughs]

Chelsea: Alright, so we are already just over thirty minutes and we haven’t actually talked about the book yet.

[Kay groans]

Chelsea: Which is great. So we’re gonna go a little quicker. We’re gonna skip some of the other categories coming up. Best Professional Editors, Short Form. The Thomases.

Kay: Thomases.

Claire: Yes.

Chelsea: Are we all playing same team on that one?

Kay: Shoutout to Alisa Krasnostein for Letters to Tiptree, though, ‘cause, I mean. Come on. That was amazing.

Chelsea: Yeah. Yes, yes, yes, yes.

Claire: I also nominated Michi separately. Also for Uncanny.

Chelsea: Yes, Michi Trota I also nominated. Uh, should we skip down, Best Semiprozine? Anything? Uncanny?

Claire: Uncanny.

Kay: Uncanny.

Chelsea: Book Smugglers.

Kay: Book Smugglers.

Claire: I mean.

Kay: Strange Horizons always out there doing the work, too.

Chelsea: Book Smugglers. Yeah. I did Fireside. I thought they did really good work with some of the stuff they did this year.

Claire: Yeah.

Chelsea: Uh. Let’s see. Best Fanzine?

Claire: Lady Business.

Kay: I mean, Lady Business.

Chelsea: Yes.

Kay: Lady Business today, Lady Business tomorrow, Lady Business forever.

[laughter]

Chelsea: [sings] Forever!

Claire: I also —

Kay: And the Rec Center newsletter.

Claire: I also nominated The Rec Center, which is a fannish newsletter by Gavia, Gav and Elizabeth.

Kay: So good.

Chelsea: Mmhmm.

Claire: Gavia Baker-Whitelaw and Elizabeth…

Kay: Minkel?

Claire: Minkel!

Kay: Is that how you say her last name? [laughs]

Claire: Thank you!

Chelsea: Minkel, I think?

Claire: I feel bad, now.

Chelsea: Uh, Best Fancast?

Claire: That’s so hard! That was my hardest, like —

Kay: I mean.

Chelsea: Yeah.

Claire: I had literally a list of twenty things that I think are worthy.

Kay: It’s so hard. Overinvested.

Claire: Yes.

Chelsea: Mmhmm.

Claire: Absolutely.

Kay: Which is just an excellent podcast everyone should be listening to, already.

Chelsea: Yeah, Overinvested is amazing.

Claire: I also nominated Elizabeth’s booktube channel, Books and Pieces.

Kay: Me, too.

Chelsea: Me, too. I also did Fangirl Happy Hour.

Kay: Always, yeah.

Claire: The one I don’t think will be talked about by people is a podcast called Witch, Please?

Chelsea: I put that on there, too!

Claire: Did you?

Chelsea: Aw, yeah!

Kay: That’s the acafen Harry Potter podcast, right?

Claire: Amazing. No, I hope everyone does put it on, it’s just, like, it is a fannish thing and it is about Harry Potter so it qualifies, but it’s not, like, really something that.

Chelsea: It’s not like in the, cause they’re two female academics from Canada and they’re not necessarily, like, coming at it from a place that’s entrenched in fandom.

Claire: Exactly.

Chelsea: Although they do talk about the fandom.

Kay: Mmhmm.

Chelsea: So I think, it’s like a lot of Harry Potter people have picked up on it, but it hasn’t necessarily made, like, the jump into bigger, just like, fan —

Kay: They’re acafen, which is a different viewpoint than you get a lot of the time.

Chelsea: Yeah. They’re amazing. They do, they have such a good backlog. They talk about the movies and the books and it’s just, they do really A+.

Kay: My brother-in-law, that’s like his favorite podcast. [laughs]

Chelsea: Yeah, it’s a really, really good one. Okay, so, should we do Best Fanwriter and then Best Series and then talk about the book?

Kay and Claire: Yes.

Chelsea: I guess. Okay.

Kay: Best Fanwriter is just wall to wall amazing ladies for me. I’ve got Michi, I’ve got Renay.

Chelsea: Same. All ladies.

Kay: Abigail Nussbaum.

Chelsea: Yes.

Kay: I’ve got Alyssa Wong. And, of course, Gav. Like, they’re just doing the work. So good.

Chelsea: Tansy. Mmhmm.

Claire: And Sarah Gailey, as well. Again, for the Women of Harry Potter thing. Um. Yeah. Same people we keep mentioning.

Chelsea: I agree. Yeah, I know. There are some themes, here

Kay: What did you guys think about Best Series?

Chelsea: Uh…Well, I mean.

Kay: I hate the way it’s set up. I hate, like, the guidelines they have. It’s dumb.

Chelsea: I feel about this the same way that I feel about the way that we award Oscars, sometimes, in that, like i feel that we give them to the last one even if the last one isn’t necessarily the best one in honor of, like, the whole thing. Like, I nominated Harry Potter and JK Rowling.

Kay: Even though Cursed Child was garbage.

Chelsea: I actually really hated Harry Potter and the Cursed Child.

Kay: Yeah.

Chelsea: Yeah, but if this is a chance to give Harry Potter that Hugo Award.

Claire: Harry Potter has a Hugo Award.

Chelsea: That’s why I nominated it.

Claire: Harry Potter won the Hugo Award for Best Novel. Goblet of Fire has a Hugo.

Chelsea: Yeah, but I feel like, also, at this point —

Claire: I agree with you that Harry Potter should have a Hugo, I’m just saying noone nominate Cursed Child for anything.

[laughter]

Kay: We weren’t —

Chelsea: Too late.

Kay: — nominating Cursed Child. We’re using that as the qualifying work. And that is how I rationalized that life choice. [laughs]

Chelsea: Yeah. Or, it’s like, I nominated Chaos Choreography from the InCryptid series.

Claire: Yes.

Chelsea: I didn’t actually necessarily think that’s the best book of that entire series, but I love that series. And so, like, that’s, but that’s what I’m saying. It’s like, I feel like that’s kind of a little bit of an issue that’s built into the award is that we’re using a book that’s not necessarily all the greatest —

Claire: But the award is for Series, it’s not the novel.

Chelsea: — and I dunno, it just feels weird. But it’s all ladies.

Claire: Of course.

Kay: Yeah, mine are all women.

Chelsea: That’s a recurring theme.

Kay: I nominated Toby Daye and Newsflesh, because literally I wasn’t kidding when I said there was so much freaking Seanan on my ballot this year.

Chelsea: Yeah.

Claire: And I have InCryptid and it sounds like you have it, too, Chelsea. I love the InCryptid series.

Chelsea: Yeah, I did InCryptid and October Daye. And Newsflesh.

Claire: [laughs] Well, I have the memoirs of Lady Trent series by Marie Brennan, which is like dragon studies and also. Also Naomi Novik’s Temeraire ‘cause League of Dragons came out in 2016. So. My two favorite dragon things are on the ballot, which makes me happy. I dunno, I feel like nominating Harry Potter for Best Series, now, on the basis of Cursed Child would be the kind of thing that I would frown upon if, like, bro fanboys were doing it —

[Kay laughs]

Claire: — if they were saying, like, this dead male author needs recognition for blah blah blah blah blah. I’m not subtweeting something that happened three years ago. But. You know.

[laughter]

Claire: But, I dunno. I feel like that’s not.

Chelsea: I will accept your realtime live action subtweet.

[Kay laughs]

Chelsea: And give you the biggest shrugging emoji because it’s too late, I already did it.

[Malt Shop Bop by Kevin MacLeod plays]

[Kay is still laughing]

Chelsea: And that’s actually the perfect emotional note to move on into talking about our book of the month. I should. Okay. For our listener’s sake, I’m gonna give you guys a little note that we actually have, this is the second time recording this episode for us. The first time we recorded it we had some glitches with the sound files so we’re having to redo it. So, if it seems like maybe we’re not —

Kay: We’re not in it to win it, today.

Chelsea: — as passionate.

[laughter]

Chelsea: Yeah, the, that might be a little, a lot of the reason that’s happening. So. Uh. Let’s start with the negatives and then we’ll end on the positives. For those of you who are just kind of tuning in, we are talking about Daughter of Smoke & Bone by Laini Taylor. This was my pick for two weeks. This is a book about Karu, who is a young girl living in Prague who has some family secrets. She has a very, kind of, strange adoptive found family of chimaera, who are half, who are a conglomeration of, essentially, different kinds of animals and various human parts. Um, she runs errands for her father figure across the world, and one day when she’s on one of these errands, um, she notices black handprints on the doors and that portends some really awful shit going down for her family. On the flipside of this we’re also following a young man named Akiva and at first we don’t know much about him other than that he is an angel and it is his job to kill chimaera.

[Kay giggles]

Chelsea: [laughs] And then he and Karu meet and with his help and to his detriment we learn some things about Karu’s past and where she comes from. It is a second world fantasy, which is definitely something that we’re gonna talk about. Um, but yeah. I picked it because I love the language. I really like the relationship between Karu and Akiva. I really like the second world, second world fantasy is not like a thing for me. But. Let’s turn it over to you guys.

Kay: Whereas I felt gruesomely betrayed.

[laughter]

Kay: Because the first, like, two thirds of this book are fucking urban fantasy and all of a sudden it’s second world fantasy which, I, like, almost universally loathe. And I was like, ‘wait, what the fuck just happened?’

[laughter]

Chelsea: I’m so sorry, Kay.

Claire: Now, my problem with this wasn’t necessarily the second world fantasy because I read a bunch of second world fantasy and I don’t mind. But, like, the secondary world fantasy bits, they’re all, like, flashbacks.

Kay: It’s so weird.

Claire: And just, like, structurally. The structure. Like, I just felt like the emotion, the emotional buildup didn’t really work with the structure of the book. Also, the thing is, basically, the specific trope that is referenced that I didn’t, like, I didn’t one hundred percent see coming straightaway, but, you know, that trope. I don’t, I just don’t like that. That’s not one of my. Should we just say what it is?

Chelsea: Yeah, yeah, yeah.

Claire: Yeah, sorry, sorry.

Chelsea: Spoilers.

Kay: All the spoilers.

Claire: I’m just not into reincarnation stories. Like.

Chelsea: Yeah.

Claire: I’m generally a really tough sell for instalove, anyway, but if it’s, like, reincarnation instalove? And, like. I mean. No?

Chelsea: Yeah.

Kay: See, I was more willing to give it a pass on the instalove. See, unlike Claire, I mean, I also hate instalove, but I was more willing to give it a pass because it seemed very obvious from very early on that this was gonna be some kind of a reincarnation story.

Chelsea: Mmhmm. And usually I don’t like reincarnation either. I think it worked for me because it’s so seamlessly built into the worldbuilding, that, like, from the outset it is a part of the worldbuilding and culture from which this stories come from. So, like, I didn’t love it, but like Kay said, I was willing to give it a pass.

Kay: Yeah.

Chelsea: ‘Cause, like, it, I knew, it’s fairly early on established that this is gonna be some kind of Romeo and Juliet crossed worlds thing. And I knew we had to get somewhere from Akiva knowing what was up and Karu not, we had to know where that came from. So I knew there was gonna be some kind of big twist, I dunno. I’m not super, my thing is I bought into the way that this relationship was built and the tension there. If you don’t buy into it, the rest of this story does not work.

Kay: Yeah.

Claire: Which is a shame, because the worldbuilding is really, really cool, I think. The writing is beautiful. The prose is really great. The worldbuilding is really cool, really creepy, like, the whole reincarnation setup. Like, before you know that there’s reincarnation, how it works, this guy is spending, like the whole book collecting teeth. And it’s super creepy and delightful. I just thought that, like, I wish that she’d gone more for like a dual timeline thing.

Chelsea: Mmhmm.

Claire: Like you follow Karu for one chapter and then you follow Madrigal for one chapter.

Kay: It has major structural problems. Is my whole thing.

Claire: Right.

Chelsea: Yeah. Yeah. The pacing on this story is really bad. Like Kay said, it’s pretty legit that the first, eh, two thirds-ish of this novel are Karu and Akiva realtime present day and then we flashback to learn the story of how they met. And that takes us to literally the last chapter which is them parting ways and setting up the next two books.

Kay: And it’s a cliffhanger. Wait, hold on, I will pull up this text I sent to Chelsea after I finished reading this the first time.

Chelsea: Kay was really mad. Kay was really mad, it was pretty bad. But the flashbacks are there to tell you about how these two starcrossed lovers met. So unless you are with them emotionally and invested the first two thirds?

Kay: Yeah.

Chelsea: When they get to that flashback, unless you’re fully onboard and willing to go back and hear that story, it does not read super great.

Kay: It was like she was very invested in having a third act twist and I think that the story was not well served by that.

Chelsea: Yeah. And I think, if you’re gonna go ahead and read the next two, uh, trigger warning there is sexual assault in the second book. Or attempted sexual assault. So.

Kay: Ughh.

Chelsea: Just know that, going forward. I don’t want to recommend anyone start a series that has stuff in later books without them knowing what they’re getting into.

Claire: Oh yeah, that’s definitely fair. Like. [sighs] I mean, I don’t know. It’s also that I think we spend a lot of time with Karu.

Chelsea: Mmhmm.

Claire: And we don’t spend a lot of time, we don’t spend as much time with Akiva. And we don’t spend, and the time we spend with him at the beginning he’s just really angry. And the way it’s set up at the beginning, for me, it read like, like his dead girlfriend had been fridged and that’s why he was so angry. And that.

Chelsea: Which, I mean, technically is exactly what happened, only spoiler alert she’s also been reincarnated.

[Kay laughs]

Chelsea: That’s the thing. We get the best of both worlds. She gets fridged so he can be in pain, and then also she’s not fridged, so we can see her develop as, like, a person. I recommended this book, guys, I feel like I should be coming to bat more for this.

Kay: I feel like such an asshole for, like, how much I was just like, ‘I fucking hated this book,’ but, like, literally I’m reading the urban fantasy part until two thirds of the way through I’m like, ‘I would give this three and a half, four stars.’ And we get to the last part and I’m like ‘fucking two stars.’ This book gets two stars from me.

[laughter]

Kay: And I felt like such an asshole!

Chelsea: Yeah, that’s fair.

Kay: But it just didn’t work for me. It just didn’t work for me. And I do agree that the prose is very nice, but I do have to throw out there that there is a very weird, like, point of view shifting problem. Where most of the time this is written in a tight third person and then all of a sudden Laini Taylor is, for like a paragraph, is like an omniscient narrator and it will switch to someone else’s point of view for several lines. And I’m like, ‘what the fuck just happened?’ And this was very disorienting, especially because I was switching back and forth between the ebook and the audiobook. So I literally thought I was just losing my mind. So I’m listening to the audiobook when this happens the first time.

Chelsea: Awww. [laughs]

Kay: And I’m just like what. What? What?!

Chelsea: What is happening?

Kay: And I pulled up the ebook and I’m doing a word search wondering what is happened and like, no, that really is a thing that just happened. I was all of a sudden in her best friend’s head for, like, two sentences. And it wasn’t even, it didn’t even, like, go to the end of the scene. This was, like mid-scene. I was so confused.

Chelsea: Yeah. It’s not. It does that. It perspective shifts. More than it needs to.

Kay: This book needed a stronger editorial hand. Is my feeling about this.

Chelsea: Mmhmm. I agree.

Kay: That’s kinda just like, my last thought.

[laughter]

Chelsea: Okay, well. Things that we did like? Anything that we DID like about this book.

Kay: I fucking loved Brimstone, man.

Claire: The prose.

Chelsea: The prose was good. The writing is great. The prose is really, really beautiful.

Claire: I really liked the bits in Prague, actually.

Kay: Yeah.

Chelsea: Mmhmm.

Claire: I mean, I just really, really liked Karu and, like, the fact that she was going to art school and her best friend. I was annoyed at the audiobook because the audiobook was like, ‘Karu is so fluent, because she can speak Czech because of a spell.’ But even with her being so fluent, everybody else has a weird accent. I was like. That’s…not good.

[Kay giggles]

Claire: In my head I kept hearing the voice of, you know, the guy who does Everything Wrong With, the movie, the series of movie critics?

Kay: On YouTube?

Claire: On YouTube.

Chelsea: Mmhmm. Yeah, yeah, yeah.

Claire: Every time there’s something a little bit, like, unpleasant or racist or whatever he’s like, ‘That’s racist!’

[laughter]

Claire: That’s what I kept hearing in my head every time. It’s just like, Karu’s so perfect and she speaks Czech so well and then Susanna comes around and she has an accent and I’m just like stop it! That’s not how language works. Anyway. Tangent. I really liked Susanna. That’s what I was trying to say. I really liked Susanna.

Chelsea: Yes.

Kay: She’s lovely.

Claire: And the audiobook has nothing to do with the actual writing of the book. So. That’s unfair.

Chelsea: Yeah. I really like Susanna and Mick. I feel like they are really solid side cast characters that still manage to feel very fleshed out. I really. Plus they’re funny. I just think they’re cute.

Kay: Also Brimstone. Brimstone is, like, maybe my favorite part of the book.

Chelsea: Oh, I’m sorry, did you mean Mufasa? I didn’t.

Kay: Shut up.

Chelsea: I don’t think I heard you quite right —

Kay: Shut up.

Chelsea: — the first time.

Kay: Shut up.

Chelsea: I’m pretty sure that’s how that works. No, but you’re right, like.

[laughter]

Chelsea: He plays such a good, like, version of that character.

Kay: So good.

Chelsea: He does such a good job.

Claire: He’s really great, and I just, that’s why I’m thinking if we had a dual timeline, if we had, like, a more, if we were able to see more of Madrigal’s story, and like her life, like, you’d be able to see way more of Brimstone. And every time that Karu makes a wish that’s inconsequential in the present if you knew what the wish takes at that time you’d be like ‘oh my god, stop it, woman!’

Chelsea: Yeah, it would hit harder, for sure. Did we have favorite parts or was it all just a trash fire?

Kay: I wonder if my bookmark will still be in there because it’s a library ebook that I had to check out again. Let’s see. It’s probably not.

Claire: I emailed it to myself, but I don’t knowif it’s still here.

Kay: Okay, here we go. I still have mine. Mine is just this really. So this is actually the part of the book that I don’t like. [laughs] Towards the end. But it’s a conversation between Brimstone and Madrigal when she’s basically waiting to be executed.

Chelsea: Yeahhh.

Kay: ‘Cause that’s nice. Um.

[laughter]

Chelsea: That’s a dark scene.

Kay: And he said, ‘Magic won’t save us. The power it would take to conjure on such a scale the tithe would destroy us. The only hope is hope. You don’t need tokens for it. It’s in your heart or nowhere. And in your heart, child, it has been stronger than I’ve ever seen.’ And I was like, that’s just a real nice thing for your surrogate father figure to tell you right before you’re going to your death.

Chelsea: But, like, that’s a nice sentiment. Like, that’s a good takeaway.

Kay: It’s a lovely sentiment, yeah.

Chelsea: Like, have hope. That’s a nice sentiment. Mine is actually not, yet again, not a specific line, but a scene. There’s a scene in the second world fantasy part where we are following Madrigal and she’s getting dressed for a ball. And her friends are helping her get dressed and they dust her in edible sugar glitter so she sparkles and she’s wearing this midnight blue dress. And that scene always reminds me a lot of the scene in Ever After when Drew Barrymore shows up all covered in glitter and wearing that big angel dress.

Kay: Mmhmm. I love that movie.

Chelsea: I, whatever. That movie.

[laughter]

Chelsea: We can talk about that movie later. Um, but, anyway, she meets Akiva and he’s masked and disguised and he’s not supposed to be there and it’s very much so Romeo and Juliet at the party at the Capulets’ house. Like it’s very, he’s not supposed to be there but he calls down this cloud of moths to, like, eat the sugar off her shoulders and make, like, a little jacket for her. And it’s just so cute. I just liked it. I just thought that was cute.

Kay: It’s a really sweet little piece of magic.

Chelsea: That’s all I have to say about it. It’s just a sweet little. And it’s just like, it’s a cute little thing of worldbuilding and just, like, adds a little extra dimension to both the character and the world that they’re in. So I just really liked it. Did you have anything, Claire?

Claire: Yeah. Uh, there’s a, just a little small thing that made me pause the audiobook and, like, write it down, because I thought it was so great. At some point they’re talking to, like, a fallen angel who’s, you know, this guy was cursed because he asked for knowledge and he was cursed with having a fallen angel on his back.

Kay: Literally.

Claire: So he has this knowledge but it comes at a price kind of thing. And at some point he’s talking to Akiva, who’s very self righteously talking about why the angels are correct in their war, and the guy says about, you know, about all the stuff Akiva told him happened a long time ago. ‘Like mold on books, grow myth on history.’

Kay: Mmhmm.

Claire: And I thought, yes, that’s very true and also I had these, like, flashbacks to like the opening credits of the Lord of the Rings movies? Where the talk about, like, how, myth are created? And yeah.

Kay: That made me think about when Chelsea had mold on her bookcases. [laughs]

Claire: Oh, no!

Chelsea: Awww. That was sad. That’s one of my most viewed videos on YouTube is two minutes of black death mold.

Kay: I think that’s the first video of yours I ever saw. [laughs]

Chelsea: Oh, I’m so sorry. Oh my god, I’m so sorry that that was your introduction to my life. I’m so sorry.

Kay: You were so traumatized. I felt so bad.

Chelsea: For those of you who haven’t seen it, we have, we have leaky water in my basement, so. And I didn’t know it at the time and it infiltrated the whole bottom row of my book cases. So I put, like, a little, so I, I didn’t film for like a month because I had to take my whole setup down. So I put up a little explainer video being like well, that’s what black mold looks like.

Claire: Awww.

Chelsea: Spoiler alert. Yeah. I had lots of people be like, yeah, I was trying to watch this during lunch time and I was like oopsie.

Kay: Sorry, bro.

Chelsea: Trigger warning for really gross stuff. Sorry, bro.

[Malt Shop Bop by Kevin MacLeod plays]

Chelsea: Well, alright. That finishes up our second discussion of The Daughter of Smoke & Bone by Laini Taylor. Um, what do we have coming up in the future? Uh, I guess, well our next book after this is going to be A Trifle Dead.

Kay: Yay!

Chelsea: Which is the first book in the Cafe la Femme series. Which is a mystery book. This one was recommended by Miss Kay. And even though I just read it I still can’t tell you what it’s about, so I’m gonna pull up the Goodreads synopsis.

[laughter]

Claire: And this is by Livia Day, which is a pseudonym for Tansy Rayner Roberts.

Chelsea: A Trifle Dead is written by Livia Day, which is a pseudonym for Tansy Rayner Roberts and it is about Tabitha Darling, who runs a pastry shop/coffee house in Hobart and one day she is, kind of hanging out in her apartment, and upstairs the band that rents the apartment above her finds a dead body in a net, like a trap of some kind? And, yeah, nobody really knows what that’s about. The police come to investigate. Also, Tabitha Darling is the daughter of the former police chief of Hobart, so she’s already got plenty of police in her life. But it is about her and her friends as they work to kind of figure out exactly who it is that is murdering other people in a town where pretty much everyone knows everybody. So we will be coming back in a couple of weeks to talk about that. A nice, little,cozy, funny mystery. Otherwise, Miss Claire. What do you have on the go for the future?

Claire: Well, I’ve just started doing my favorite podcasts video series, which, ya know. I saw your favorite podcasts video and I really enjoyed that. And there were some things that I didn’t know about that was exciting, that I tried and everything, but when I wrote down the ones that I wanted to recommend, I literally had, like, twenty.

Chelsea: Yeah.

Claire: So I was, like, let’s break it down and so I’m going to be doing a video series. They’re planned for every Sunday, but.

[laughter]

Claire: It’s Sunday now and I haven’t made the one for today, so, you know, roughly once a week.

Chelsea: Meh. What are plans?

Claire: So I’ve got those coming up. The first one is already out and there’ll be a few more out by the time this podcast is out. So that’s a thing that I’m super excited about because podcasts are great.

Chelsea: Amen.

Kay: This is true.

Chelsea: What about you, Miss Kay?

Kay: [sighs] I definitely have about a million Star Trek fanfiction recs in my Trek Rec a Day project that you should go check out.

Chelsea: Yeah, you do. Woohoo!

Kay: We have passed the 200 day mark and, uh, we have enough stuff in my gdoc for 365 days. So that shit’s going on probably for a year.

Chelsea: Until then.

[laughter]

Claire: I wonder if that’s gonna be eligible for Related Work Hugo next year?

Kay: That will be. [laughs]

Chelsea: Uh, yeah.

Kay: Yeah, guys, you should definitely nominate my Twitter thread next year.

Chelsea: We’ll get it on the 2018/2017 Hugo spreadsheet thing for nominations.

Kay: Sounds like a plan. [laughs]

Chelsea: Amen. Alright. And then I. Is that all you have going on, Miss Kay?

Kay: Yep.

Chelsea: Still just trekkin? Alright, cool. I’m doing something similar. I’ve got the YouTube videos coming out. We are, by the time this goes up, we are going to be entering into the second month of readalongs for the YouTube SFF Awards.

Kay: Woohoo!

Chelsea: So I will link that down below. We have all kinds of nominees. Adult fiction, young adult, middle grade, and graphic novels in addition to short works. So, there’s probably something for everybody. So, yeah. Come read along with us. Check it out. Links will be in the show notes! Uh, that wraps up this episode. Join us in a couple weeks to talk about A Trifle Dead. Hopefully we only have to do that one one time. Alright. I guess until next time? Bye everybody.

Claire: Bye!

Kay: Bye!

[Malt Shop Bop by Kevin Macleod plays]

Chelsea: You’ve been listening to Sisterhood of the Traveling Paperbacks, a podcast made by three online besties and all-around lady nerds. Channel art provided by Claire Rousseau. Music credits to ‘Malt Shop Bop’ by Kevin MacLeod. You can get in touch with the sisterhood at paperbacksisterhoodpodcast@gmail.com, @PaperbacksPod on Twitter, or at our website paperbacksisters.wordpress.com. You can reach Kay @kaytaylorrea on Twitter, Claire @ClaireRousseau, and Chelsea @anoutlawlife. Additional credits and show notes will be available at our website. Thank you so much for listening. [Double speed] No paperbacks were harmed in the making of this program.

Kay: Yeah, you Pen/Faulkner fucker, this was way better than your book.

Leave a Reply

